Eugene Hotchkiss, 2020 Local Legend

Local Legends

Each year, the History Center presents a new Local Legend, honoring someone who has contributed significantly to our community and the world.

This year we are proud to honor Dr. Eugene Hotchkiss III as our 2020 award recipient, marking our eleventh Local Legend.

Gene joins the ranks of Jim Lovell, Adrian Smith, John Bryan, Richard Marx, Bill Kurtis and Donna LaPietra, Mark and Franklin McMahon, Ellen Stirling, Ryne Sandberg, Marian Phelps Pawlick, and Jack Schuler.

Local Legends Benefit

We are thrilled to announce that our 2020 Local Legend is Dr. Eugene Hotchkiss III!

A highly respected leader and biographer, Gene Hotchkiss has inspired, molded and illuminated the lives of so many; now we will have the chance to hear him tell his own story.

Thank you for joining us.

Thank you to our sponsors to date:

$250 Kudos

Judy Bensinger

Stevie and Porter Boggess

Googan and Jeanette Bunn

Katherine Saville

$500 Big Man on Campus

John & Virginia Andersen

Earl Baines and Lisa Baines

Charlie & Calvine Bowen

Winnie & Bob Crawford


Madeleine Dugan

Joan DePree

David and Molly Forlow

Jan and Jack Frigo

David and Pamela Henkel

Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Henry 

Dan and Mary Gescheidle

David and Lauren Gorter

James and Audrey Gorter

Debby and Jerry Henry

Judy Inglese

Fred & Jeanne Jackson

R. Ann Jones

Anne & Rob Krebs

Hal Jones & Maya Pearcy

Lake Forest Graduate School

Addie Morrison

John K. Notz

Nancy and Kent Novit

Mary and John Ormsby

Marian Pawlick

Juliet Priebe

Adrian and Nancy Smith

Ron and Anne Taylor

Maria and Robert Westropp

Alain & Barbara Wood-Prince

$1000  Cheers!

Prue & Frank Beidler

Mary and Chip Brennan

Liam and Francesca Connell

Gay and Otto Georgi

The Hale Family

Anne Hunting

Edgar Jannotta

Kitty and Rob Lansing

Paula & John Lillard

Mariani Landscape

Ellen and James Stirling

Robin & Sandy Stuart

Pam and David Waud

$2,500 Bon Appetit

Peter and Crissy Cherry

Susan and Scott Garrett

Tom and Nancy Thomson

$5,000 Title Sponsors


Maxine and Thomas B. Hunter III

Special Thanks to our Media Sponsor Forest & Bluff magazine

2019: Jack Schuler

2018: Marian Phelps Pawlick

2017: Ryne Sandberg

2016: Ellen Stirling

2015: Franklin and Mark McMahon

2014: Bill Kurtis and Donna La Pietra

2013: Richard Marx

2011: Adrian Smith

2010: Captain Jim Lovell