Susan Garrett Head Shot

Local Legends

Each year, the History Center presents a new Local Legend, honoring someone who has contributed significantly to our community and the world.

This year we are proud to celebrate The Honorable Susan Garrett as our 2021 award recipient, marking our twelfth Local Legend.

Susan joins the ranks of Jim Lovell, Adrian Smith, John Bryan, Richard Marx, Bill Kurtis and Donna LaPietra, Mark and Franklin McMahon, Ellen Stirling, Ryne Sandberg, Marian Phelps Pawlick, Jack Schuler and Dr. Eugene Hotchkiss III. 

Susan Garrett will be interviewed by NBC 5 political editor, award-winning journalist and good friend Carol Marin. The setting is an intimate interview that encourages the sharing of little-known stories, behind-the-scenes anecdotes and insights missing from standard biographies.

Carol Marin

Local Legends Benefit

We are thrilled to announce The Honorable Susan Garrett as our 2021 Local Legend!

A dedicated lawmaker and pioneer for women in state politics, Susan Garrett is a champion for the environment, healthcare, education and ethics and a mentor for women entrepreneurs. Her leadership extended across the aisle, keeping her constituents' interests close to heart as a public servant extraordinaire.

We are seeking sponsors to help honor our 2021 Local Legend and support the History Center's annual fundraiser.

  • Sponsors at the $500 level and above will receive:
    • Recognition in the pre-event slide show and the opportunity to write a personal note to Susan
    • Recognition in social media posts
    • Recognition in the History Center e-newsletter
    • Recognition on the Local Legends event webpage
    • Recognition on the lobby display inside the History Center
  • Sponsors at the $1,000 level and above receive the $500 sponsor benefits, plus:
    • Two tickets to the in-person event and pre-interview happy hour
    • For those who elect to attend via Zoom: a signature cocktail kit, featuring "The Garrett" (or beer or wine) will be delivered to you to enjoy during the event
    • An opportunity to videotape a 30-second well wish to Susan in the pre-event slide presentation
  • $2,500 level and above receive the $1,000 sponsor benefits, plus:
    • For those who attend via Zoom: gift card from Froggy’s (Susan’s favorite restaurant) to enjoy after the event
    • Your logo or name shown during the pre-event slide presentation in addition to the videotaped well wish
  • $5,000 level and above receive the $2,500 sponsor benefits, plus:
    • Recognition as a Key Sponsor for the event in all materials, as well as mention in all press releases and story submissions about the event
  • $10,000 level and above receive the $5,000 sponsor benefits, plus:
    • Marquee status recognition with the phase, “Local Legends presented by...”
  • SPECIAL: Note to Susan $50: Write a personal note of congratulations to Susan to be published in a special keepsake book for our 2021 Local Legend. Email your note (max 150 words) by October 1st to, or send by mail to Lisa Frey, 509 East Deerpath, Lake Forest, IL 60045.

To secure your sponsorship please submit electronic payment by clicking here or send your check payable to the HISTORY CENTER LAKE FOREST-LAKE BLUFF, attn. Lisa Frey, Development Director to 509 East Deerpath, Lake Forest, IL 60045. 

Tickets to the Local Legends benefit are $250 In-Person, $50 on Zoom

To purchase tickets please click here.

Patron Sponsor Roll Call 

Title Sponsor


$5,000 Sponsor

Tom and Maxine Hunter
Anne Hunting and Ari Mintz
The John & Kathleen Schreiber Foundation

$2,500 Sponsor

Prue and Frank Beidler

$1,000 Sponsor


Lidia Devonshire

Maddie Dugan

Gay and Otto Georgi

The Hale Family

Mariani Landscape

Diana and David Moore

Julie Morrison

Diane Quinn

The Honorable Elizabeth Rochford-Striedl

Richard and Elaine Tinberg

Pam and David Waud

$500 Sponsor

Anne S. Bent

Nancy Bock on behalf of Erie Family Health

Charlie and Calvine Bowen

Denise A. Bunning

Mrs. Francesca Connell

Mr. Liam Connell

Kathy and Jim Dasso

Joan DePree

Pam and Dave Henkel

Gene Hotchkiss

Frederick Jackson & Jeanne Jackson

Lake Forest Lake Bluff Democrats

Rob and Kitty Lansing

James and Marilyn Lovell

Toni and Dave Mathis

John and Mary Ormsby

Allison and Thomas Pasquesi

Mrs. Marian Phelps Pawlick

Mary and Bob Shaw

Nancy and Adrian Smith

Dr. Barbara O. Taylor

Tom and Nancy Thomson


Jackson D. Brown

Sandra and Thomas Hart

Linda Hinde

R. Ann Jones

Bob and Karol Karlblom

Barbara and Anthony Kesman

Julia Fiske Parker and James Parker

Anne and Ron Taylor

Kathleen Wawryzn


Special Thanks to our Media Sponsor Forest & Bluff magazine

Forest & Bluff Mag Logo

Susan Garrett Patron Sponsor Invite

2021: Hon. Susan Garrett

Gene Hotchkiss

2020: Dr. Eugene Hotchkiss


2019: Jack Schuler

2018: Marian Phelps Pawlick

2017: Ryne Sandberg

2016: Ellen Stirling

2015: Franklin and Mark McMahon

2014: Bill Kurtis and Donna La Pietra

2013: Richard Marx

2011: Adrian Smith

2010: Captain Jim Lovell